Yearin Law Office - Personal Injury Attorney in Scottsdale, AZ

Opening Hours : Monday to Friday - 8am to 6pm.
(480) 502-0708

Reporting Nursing Home Abuse

Sad elderly man on wheelchair
Nursing home residents depend on their caregivers to help them with daily tasks that we often take for granted. Unfortunately, this makes those residents highly susceptible to abuse and neglect. Those residents suffering from dementia or disabilities are considered the highest at-risk. In an effort to stop the abuse, Arizona has worked to put laws into place to help protect...[ read more ]
Read More

Top Causes of Car Accidents and How to Prevent Them

Man Calling Help After Car Crash Accident On The Road
Statistics show that the number of car accidents continues to rise each year. The Arizona Department of Transportation reports that in 2016 alone, there were a total of 126,987 car accidents in the state. This number represents an 8% increase from 2015. Among these accidents, 952 persons were killed and 56,753 were injured. The number of fatalities increased 7% over...[ read more ]
Read More

How Does the Law Protect You From Dog Bites

In many jurisdictions, dog owners are generally protected from liability if his or her dog bites someone for the first time and if the owner had no reason to believe that the dog was dangerous. Arizona, however, holds the owner strictly liable. This means that regardless of the animal’s past behavior, the owner is responsible for injuries caused by the...[ read more ]
Read More

6 Signs of Nursing Home Abuse

Care Worker Mistreating Senior Woman
Experts estimate that up to two million Americans over the age of 65 have been mistreated, injured, or exploited by someone who is caring for them. However, another estimate indicates that only one in every 14 incidents of elder abuse will be reported to officials. Only one in 25 situations that involve financial damage will be reported. That means that...[ read more ]
Read More

What to do if injured by a drowsy driver?

Girl Yawning in Car
A staggering 60% of drivers will get behind the wheel while they are feeling drowsy. Another 33% of adults admit to actually falling asleep at the wheel. Those who are sleep deprived act very similarly to drunk drivers. In fact, the National Sleep Foundation reports that being awake for 18 hours is like having a .05 blood alcohol content. The...[ read more ]
Read More

Protection From The Uninsured And Under Insured

Unfortunately, not all drivers in Arizona have automobile insurance and even more drivers have minimal coverage limits that are insufficient to compensate an accident victim who sustains a serious injury. Accordingly, you should always purchase uninsured and under insured motorist coverage with your automobile insurance policy with coverage limits of at least $100,000. Uninsured and under insured coverages are relatively...[ read more ]
Read More

Is Your Insurance Company Acting In Bad Faith?

After a car accident, people are told to call their insurance company. People buy insurance so that they can be protected should something bad happen. Sometimes, however, the company that should be protecting them becomes the adversary. When the insurance company makes the claims process too difficult, then the company may be acting in bad faith. What Is Bad Faith?...[ read more ]
Read More

4 Damage Multipliers To Look Out For In Vehicle Accidents

Getting into an accident typically results in the victim having expenses and damages. The expenses may be property damage, medical costs, bodily injury, or emotional trauma. Before a claim goes to trial, it goes to an insurance company which evaluates the claim for settlement. Insurance companies often rely on a formula or software to determine damages. What is a damages...[ read more ]
Read More

4 Factors To Know About Fault In Vehicle Accidents

Personal injury law revolves around the idea of fault. While the word fault may remind people of children tattling on a playground, the legal term "fault" has a specific meaning. Under the law, legal fault often refers to types of negligence: 1. What is the duty owed? The first step to determining fault is determining whether the defendant owed the...[ read more ]
Read More